My Digital Profile: Self-Test

On a 1 – 5 scale (1 represents ‘no experience’, and 5 represents ‘very experienced’), I have indicated how I would rate my current level of digital literacy against a set of criteria. I will re-visit this self-test at the end of the module and reconsider my digital literacy.

Rating at start of module Comments Rating at end of module Comments
Accessing, managing and evaluating online information

 

3 I am fairly confident in my ability to access, manage and evaluate information held online. Particularly given my undergraduate training in social statistics and associated critical thinking. However, I feel as though I would benefit greatly from applying this knowledge, in conjunction with the ‘digital’ emphasis of this module. I also believe that there is a great deal more to learn with regards to managing and evaluating online information.
Participating in online communities

 

 

2 Actively participating within an online community is something fairly novel to me. I do write the occasional blog post within my own personal WordPress website. However, I am certain that I am not using such communities to their full potential. I would love to better understand the tools I can use to tap into this potential.
Building online networks around an area of interest

 

 

2 I have a fairly large online network, primarily a professional one through LinkedIn, but I feel as though I do not utilise these in the most effective manner. I am sure I will benefit greatly from guidance in how to best utilise online networks and their associated tools.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Collaborating with others on shared projects

 

 

4 I have a fair amount of experience working on collaborative projects, primarily through university assessment. I also have experience of utilising online mediums such as Google Docs within such group projects.
Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video)

 

 

2 I have a small amount of experience creating online materials, such as a webpage and an animation, but I lack a great deal of confidence in this realm.
Managing your online identity

 

 

2 I have numerous online identities, each tailored to suit their individual purposes. For instance, my LinkedIn identity is very different to that of my Facebook or Twitter account because of the different audiences and networks. Although, I do not believe I utilise these in the most effective manner. I hope, through actively participating in this module, to become more familiar with regularly and effectively managing these identities.
Managing your online privacy and security

 

 

3 I have a good degree of vigilance with regard to online privacy and security, however through participating in this module, I also hope to become more confident with the idea of securing the aforementioned identities, and gaining more knowledge of online privacy and security.

 

Q1. Why did you choose the module?

  • To increase my digital literacy and gain valuable transferable skills, that I can apply to situations both in my domestic and professional lives
  • To experience an alternative and innovative method of learning
  • To explore online information and identities at greater depth, and to gain more knowledge surrounding online privacy and security
  • To learn new techniques, such as creation of innovative web content

Q2. What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

  • How to create innovative web content – to challenge myself and learn techniques (or become familiar with relevant tools) that are likely to be applicable within domestic (e.g. personal blogging) and professional (e.g. infographics) spheres
  • How to formulate and maintain a high-quality, secure, and private (where appropriate) web identity
  • To adapt to online teaching styles, and a novel method of learning
  • To become familiar and more confident with self-assessment methods

Q3. Which degree programme are you studying?

BSc Population and Geography

Q4. Have you studied online before?

No, but I’m looking forward to embracing it!

 

Leave a Reply

