Topic 2: Reflection

Topic 2 really got me thinking. While I often contemplate the identity I wish to portray to an online audience, I do not believe I devote sufficient attention to the broader picture. Until this point, I have not reflected on the identities I have created and whether these have an overall net negative or positive effect. Figure 5 is one of my first attempts to do so:

online-vs-offli_836_fb52dc08ebdec4af584c619a6e3c19ead32788e0
Figure 5 – A representation of my online and offline identities. Source: Author’s own diagram, produced using Piktochart. NB: Horizontal bars indicate the proportion of time dedicated to each activity on a typical term-time day. The activities included are not exhaustive and are approximations as, for instance, LinkedIn is not used on a daily basis.

From the infographic it could be assumed that I leave a predominantly practical digital footprint. I mentioned the concept of informal learning in my earlier post (Greenhow and Robelia, 2009), which I believe can occur subconsciously through interactions such as those innate to UoSM2008. New knowledge and skills are being developed (e.g. Piktochart, WordPress and Canva skills, and the troubleshooting that comes with each of these applications) which in turn, help shape my online identity. It will be interesting to see how these proportions change over the course of this module.

While I focussed my attention on the positives of multiple online identities, I discovered the harsh reality of the opposite extreme through conversations with Madeleine. I have given thought to the issue of awareness and security, and to debates such as ‘at what age is it appropriate to begin creating digital identities?’, and ‘can we realistically control our digital footprint?’. Something I did not consider within my post is the commercial aspect of identities. From reading Catherine’s blog, I have come to appreciate the role that businesses play in altering individuals’ identities, particularly through tracking internet usage and selling this information. Perhaps owing to such publicity, in the future, individuals (if aware) are more likely to shield a ‘true’ identity using pseudonyms.

It is clear that the idea of multiple online identities will remain contested well into the future…

Word count: 299

One thought on “Topic 2: Reflection

  1. the Rabbi was into money laundering..so on and sohn&230;8ave#’t looked lately to see where it all stands.But that pretty much tell you what Sorobin is about. The FBI had been looking into Sorobin trips to Israel and Cyprus and foreign campaign money.

    Like

Leave a Reply

